Mandatory, Additional and Administrative Services - Municipal Government Act

The new Municipal Government Act describes the mandatory services that all municipalities must provide and enables all municipalities to provide additional services by bylaw.

Mandatory Services

All municipalities will be required to provide mandatory municipal services and each municipality has the authority to establish bylaws to provide additional services described in the Act.

The following serves will be mandatory for all municipalities:  

  • Fire protection;
  • Municipal land use planning services, including official plans and bylaws; and
  • Emergency measures planning

While all municipalities will be responsible for providing these basic services, some municipalities may choose to share services or contract with other municipalities for the service.

Additional Services

A municipal council may pass bylaws and provide services for the following:

  • Protecting the safety, health, and welfare of people and property
  • Municipal utilities, facilities, works, and improvements on private and public land
  • Businesses, business activities and persons engaged in business
  • Acquisition of land and improvements by expropriation for municipal purposes with the exception of land owned by the Government of Prince Edward Island, Government of Canada or a Prince Edward Island First Nation Band
  • Acquisition, sale, management, mortgaging, construction, leasing, renting, or any other dealings with real property
  • Public places and spaces
  • Construction, demolition, removal, or alteration of any building or  structure including signage
  • The use of motor vehicles or other vehicles, on or off highways, and the regulation of traffic, parking, and pedestrians
  • Management and control of highways and sidewalks in the municipality
  • Subject to the ongoing review of police services, police services
  • Transport and transportation systems including taxi drivers, vehicles and taxi businesses, and other forms of public transport
  • Nuisances, loitering, dangerous or unsightly property, noise, pollution and waste
  • Establishment, operation and decommissioning of cemeteries
  • Vegetation and activities in relation to it, including but not limited to tree preservation, protection, development and implementation of maintenance standards for trees and other vegetation
  • Control and health and safety of wild and domestic animals including insects and birds, as well as protection from them
  • Protection of the environment
  • Regulation of the discharge of firearms
  • Parks and recreation
  • Pension and benefit plans for municipal employees
  • Community and regional development in cooperation with neighbouring municipalities or provincial organizations
  • Libraries
  • Regulation of real property maintenance and the protection of heritage property
  • Enforcement of bylaws
  • Administrative Services

All municipal councils will be required to have a municipal office within the municipality. The council must notify the public of the location of the office and advise the Minister of the civic address of the municipal office in writing. Within five years of the Act coming into force, all municipal councils must ensure that the municipal office is accessible to all members of the public. They will also be required to establish and maintain regular office hours. Municipal offices must be open to serve the public for not less 20 hours per week and the hours of operation must be published.

Compliance with Provincial Standards

Bylaws and services must be consistent with provincial legislation, including but not limited to, the following:

  • Cemeteries Act
  • Emergency Measures Act
  • Environmental Protection Act
  • Fire Prevention Act
  • Highway Signage Act
  • Highway Traffic Act
  • Labour Act
  • Off Highway Vehicle Act
  • Pesticide Control Act
  • Planning Act
  • Police Act
  • Provincial Building Code Act

Existing Legislation: What’s in Place Currently

Cities, towns and communities have authority to provide a variety of services ranging from fire protection to public transportation. The existing list of services is very prescriptive.

A municipal council must appoint an administrative officer as well as any other municipal officer that it thinks is necessary in order to provide administrative services to the municipality.

Note: This document is prepared by the Municipal Affairs Section of the Department of Communities, Land and Environment for general information purposes. This document should not be relied upon as a substitute for specialized legal or professional advice. 
Published date: 
January 6, 2017
Communities, Land and Environment department logo

General Inquiries

Department of Communities, Land and Environment
4th Floor, Jones Building
11 Kent Street
PO Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE   C1A 7N8

Phone: (902) 368-5044
Toll-free: 1-866-368-5044
Fax: (902) 368-5830