Complaints Mechanism - French Language Services Act

The French Language Services Act establishes a complaints mechanism to ensure that the government institutions that are subject to the Act comply with it.

How can I use the French Language Services Act complaints mechanism?

You can use the complaints mechanism to make a complaint when a government institution subject to the Act does not comply with its obligations regarding designated services, written correspondence or public consultations under the Act.

This means that you can make a complaint when:

  • A designated service is not provided to you in French.
  • The quality of a designated service provided to you in French was not comparable to the quality of that service in English.
  • A government institution did not take the measures set out in the French Language Services Act General Regulations to make it known to the public that a designated service was available in a person’s choice of English or French.
  • A government institution did not respond to your written correspondence in French.
  • A government institution did not provide the public with an opportunity to participate in a public consultation in French.

How can I make a complaint?

To be valid, a complaint must be made within 60 calendar days following the incident. Before you make a complaint, you should read the information on this page. Afterward, you can make your complaint online.

If you prefer not to make your complaint online, you can fill out the PDF complaint form and send it to the French Language Services Co-ordinator for the government institution concerned by your complaint (see table below).

French Language Services Co-ordinators

Government Institution

Name

Contact information

Agriculture and Fisheries

Janelle Arsenault
Je parle français

5th Floor, Jones Building
P.O. Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE  C1A 7N8
902-368-4149
janellearsenault@gov.pe.ca

Communities, Land and Environment

Todd Dupuis

4thFloor, Jones Building
P.O. Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE  C1A 7N8
902-368-5024
tdupuis@gov.pe.ca

Economic Development and Tourism

Heather Pollard
Je parle français

3rd Floor, Shaw Building
P.O. Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE  C1A 7N8
902-368-4441
hlpollard@gov.pe.ca

Education, Early Learning and Culture

Erin Docherty

1st Floor, Sullivan Building
Room 144
P.O. Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE  C1A 7N8
902-368-5805
ecdocherty@gov.pe.ca

Executive Council Office

Jenny Melanson
Je parle français

5th Floor, Jones Building
P.O. Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE  C1A 7N8
902-368-4212
jlmelanson@gov.pe.ca

Family and Human Services

Jennifer Burgess

2nd Floor, Jones Building
P.O. Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE  C1A 7N8
902-368-5199
jmburgess@gov.pe.ca

Finance

Jaclynne Hamel

3rdFloor, Shaw Building
P.O. Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE  C1A 7N8
902-620-3679
jrhamel@gov.pe.ca

Health and Wellness

Mark Demone

4thFloor, Shaw Building
P.O. Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE  C1A 7N8
902-368-4356
mxdemone@edu.pe.ca

Health PEI

Élise Arsenault
Je parle français

16 Garfield St
P.O. Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE  C1A 7N8
902-854-7441
elisearseanault@ihis.org

Human Rights Commission

Brenda J. Picard

53 Water Street
P.O. Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE  C1A 7N8
902-368-4134
bpicard@peihumanrights.ca

Innovation PEI

Heather Rossiter

94 Euston Street, 1st Floor
P.O. Box 910
Charlottetown, PE  C1A 7L9
902-368-5125
hlrossiter@gov.pe.ca

Island Regulatory and Appeals Commission

Cassie MacKenzie

5th Floor, Suite 501
134 Kent Street
P.O. Box 577
Charlottetown, PE  C1A 7L1
902-892-3501
cmackenzie@irac.pe.ca

Island Waste Management Corporation

Merie Surkan

110 Watts Avenue
P.O. Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE  C1A 7N8
902-368-5619
msurkan@iwmc.pe.ca

Justice and Public Safety

Bobbi Jo Flynn

4th Floor, Shaw Building
P.O. Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE  C1A 7N8
902-620-3677
bjflynn@gov.pe.ca

Liquor Control Commission

Mary Ellen Moerike

3 Garfield Street
P.O. Box 967
Charlottetown, PE  C1A 7M4
902-368-6670
memoerike@liquorpei.com

Museum and Heritage Foundation

Rachel Lapointe
Je parle français

23 Main Drive East
P.O. Box 159
Miscouche, PE  C0B 1T0
902-888-8373
rlapointe@gov.pe.ca

Public Service Commission

Manon Beaulieu
Je parle français

1st Floor, Sullivan Building
P.O. Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE  C1A 7N8
902-368-4168
mbeaulieu@gov.pe.ca
Rural and Regional Development

Giselle Bernard
Je parle français

48 Mill Road
P.O. Box 58
Wellington, PE  C0B 2E0
902-854-3680
gbbernard@gov.pe.ca

Transportation, Infrastructure and Energy

Amy Blanchard-Graham
Je parle français

116 Dufferin Street
P.O. Box 39
Alberton, PE  C0B 1B0
902-853-8622
avgraham@gov.pe.ca

Workers Compensation Board

Barbara Groom Wynne

14 Weymouth Street
Charlottetown, PE  C1A 7L7
902-368-5562
blwynne@wcb.pe.ca

Workforce and Advanced Learning

Maigan Newson
Je parle français

Suite 212
176 Great George Street
Charlottetown, PE  C1A 4K9
902-368-4861
mphnewson@gov.pe.ca

Who will address my complaint?

The complaints mechanism has two levels – the French language services co-ordinators and the Complaints Officer. This means that:

  • Your complaint will be addressed by the French Language Services Co-ordinator for the government institution concerned by your complaint;
  • If the co-ordinator doesn’t dismiss nor resolve your complaint, they will refer it to the Complaints Officer;
  • If your complaint is dismissed by the Co-ordinator and you ask for a review of the dismissal, the Complaints Officer will have to confirm the dismissal or resolve your complaint.

To better understand the complaint process, take a look at the snapshot of the complaint process.

The Complaints Officer is Ms Darlene Arsenault. You can contact the Complaints Officer by mail, email or phone using the following contact information:

Complaints Officer
PO Box 58
Wellington, PE C0B 2E0

agentplaintes@gov.pe.ca

902-303-5500 (cell)

902-854-3449 (home)

What will happen after I make a complaint?

Once your complaint is received, you can expect an acknowledgement of receipt within 15 days. The goal is to address the complaint within 60 days.

Where can I get more information about the complaints mechanism?

You can contact the Acadian and Francophone Affairs Secretariat at:

Acadian and Francophone Affairs Secretariat
PO Box 58
Wellington, PE C0B 2E0
agentplaintes@gov.pe.ca

Published date: 
February 11, 2019