Water and Wastewater Facility Classification

What types of drinking water and wastewater facilities need to be classified?

All central drinking water and wastewater systems that service more than five connections must:

The classification of the system determines the operator certification and monitoring requirements for the system.

How are facilities classified? 

Systems are classified using either a point-based system or on the basis of the population served.  Water distribution and wastewater collection systems are classified according to the population that each system serves.  Water treatment and wastewater treatment systems are classified according to size and complexity, using a point system. A table describing the classification requirements of each type of facility is available in the Drinking Water and Wastewater Facility Operating Regulations.  

Central drinking water systems that service more than five connections are considered to be 'public drinking water supply facilities'. Small water systems are those that have between 5 and 150 connections.  These can be separated into two types of facilities, as follows:

  • Class A Facility - 5 to 20 connections
  • Class B Facility - 21 to 150 connections

Documents summarizing the operator and minimum monitoring requirements for each class are available under the resources section of this page. 

What are the fees?

There is no fee to register or classify a water or wastewater facility.

How long does it take to classify a facility?

Facility classification can take from two to four weeks.

Who can I contact for more information?

Ben Lanigan (Drinking Water and Wastewater Supervisor)
4th Floor, Jones Building
11 Kent Street
Charlottetown, PEI C1A 7N8
Telephone: (902) 368-5043
Fax: (902) 368-5830
Email:  bpklanigan@gov.pe.ca

Published date: 
June 4, 2019