About PEI Housing Authorities

There are nine housing authorities under the PEI Housing Corporation as outlined in the Housing Corporation Act. The Corporation shares the responsibility for social housing in the province with local housing authorities and provincial government.

The role of the housing authority in each region is to provide day to day management of housing for low income individuals and families in each of the following PEI communities:

  1. Alberton
  2. Charlottetown area
  3. Georgetown
  4. Montague
  5. Mount Stewart
  6. O'Leary
  7. Souris
  8. Summerside
  9. Tignish

Who serves on the housing authorities?

Each housing authority is made up of community members who apply through Engage PEI.

Who is the minister responsible?

The minister responsible is the Minister of Social Development and Housing


Housing Services
Phone: (902) 368-5771






Published date: 
February 16, 2018
Social Development and Housing

General Inquiries

Department of Social Development and Housing
2nd Floor, Jones Building
11 Kent Street
PO Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE C1A 7N8

Phone: 902-620-3777
Toll-free: 1-866-594-3777
Fax: 902-368-4740