PEI Senior Islanders of the Year

The PEI Senior Islanders of the Year award was created to celebrate the many contributions of Island seniors. Each year, awards are presented to older adults who have made significant contributions to Island life as a:

  • volunteer,
  • artist or musician,
  • community organizer,
  • business person, 
  • teacher,
  • sports player or coach, or
  • other activities.

What is the nomination deadline?

The deadline for nominations for 2020 awards is December 16, 2020. Nominations may be submitted throughout the year.

Who reviews the nominations?

Nominations are reviewed by the PEI Seniors' Secretariat.

Who is eligible for the PEI Senior Islanders of the Year award?

To be eligible for this award nominees must be:

  • a resident of Prince Edward Island;
  • 65 years of age or older; and
  • willing to be nominated and agree to participate in award promotions.

How do I nominate someone?

To nominate someone, download the nomination form or contact us for a copy.

Contact Information

PEI Seniors Secretariat
Mary Driscoll
Office of Seniors
Telephone: (902) 620-3785
Toll-free: 1-866-770-0588 

Recipients of the PEI Senior Islanders of the Year

Aubrey Arsenault
Anne Morrison
Hubert MacIsaac
Mary Hughes
Mary McCormac
Patrick Curley
Wanda MacLean
Eileen Chiasson-Pendergast
Paul H. Schurman
Isabel Yuill
Ann Sherman
Evelyn Jenkins
Fairley Yeo
Grace Blackette
Kaye Larkin
Vance Bridges
Evelyn MacLure
Mary Ann Nelligan
Jack Sorensen
Chris Wells
Verna Barlow
Maria Bernard
Bill Hogg
Annie Lee MacDonald
Alice Taylor


Wilfred Driscoll
Barbara Langille
Louise MacLeod
Helen Marsh
Aldine Richard
Marilyn Sark

Margaret Ching
Corena Gairns
Julie Simmons
Richard "Dick" Wedge

Lois Brown
Sr. Norma Gallant
J. Eric Hammill
John Kenny
Marion Murphy

Garnet Buell
Joye MacKenzie
George Olscamp
Antoine Richard
Doreen Wooder

George Dalton
Tina Davis
Thelma MacDonald
Sheila MacKay
Malcolm Patterson

Julien Arsenault
Annie Boyle
WJ Kip Holloway
Agnes MacDonald
Mary MacDonald
Empress MacDowell
Shirley McGinn
Morris McIntyre
Vivian Barbara Phillips

Published date: 
November 9, 2020
Social Development and Housing

General Inquiries

Department of Social Development and Housing
2nd Floor, Jones Building
11 Kent Street
PO Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE C1A 7N8

Phone: 902-620-3777
Toll-free: 1-866-594-3777
Fax: 902-368-4740