Changes to cabinet announced

Premier Wade MacLauchlan today (January 10) announced changes to cabinet to advance the priorities of Islanders.

“We have an energized, strong team committed to advancing the priorities of Islanders such as job creation and economic growth, supports for seniors, healthcare, education, and helping communities. These changes will provide new approaches and opportunities for ministers to bring different perspectives to this work,” said the premier. “This new cabinet reflects the talent and experience of the team and the mandate that Islanders have supported.”

The following MLAs were given new ministerial responsibilities this morning during a ceremony at Government House:

  • Chris Palmer, MLA for Summerside-Wilmot, was sworn in as minister of Economic Development and Tourism;
  • Heath MacDonald, MLA for Cornwall-Meadowbank, was sworn in as minister of Finance;
  • Jordan Brown, MLA for Charlottetown-Brighton and minister of Education, Early Learning and Culture, was given the additional responsibilities of Justice and Public Safety, and attorney general;
  • Richard Brown, MLA for Charlottetown-Victoria Park, was sworn in as minister of Communities, Land and Environment;
  • Robert Henderson, MLA for O’Leary-Inverness, was sworn in as minister of Agriculture and Fisheries; and
  • Robert Mitchell, MLA for Charlottetown-Sherwood, was sworn in as minister of Health and Wellness.

They join their colleagues:

  • Premier Wade MacLauchlan, president of Executive Council, minister of Aboriginal Affairs, minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, minister of Acadian and Francophone Affairs;
  • Paula Biggar, minister of Transportation, Infrastructure and Energy and minister responsible for the Status of Women;
  • Sonny Gallant, minister of Workforce and Advance Learning;
  • Tina Mundy, minister of Family and Human Services; and
  • Pat Murphy, minister of Rural and Regional Development.

Allen Roach and Alan McIsaac are leaving cabinet after informing the premier that they do not intend to run in the next provincial election.

“I thank Minister Roach and Minister McIsaac for their years of service in cabinet and look forward to their continuing contributions as experienced members of our caucus team. Our caucus team is strong and we will continue to work together to advance the mandate Islanders have supported,” said the premier. “I know Minister Roach and Minister McIsaac will continue to work hard on behalf of their constituents and all Islanders.”


Media contact:

Mary Moszynski

General Inquiries

Office of the Premier
5th Floor South, Shaw Building
95 Rochford Street
PO Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE C1A 7N8

Phone: 902-368-4400
Fax: 902-368-4416