Engage PEI gets Islanders involved with government

More than a dozen Prince Edward Islanders were appointed or reappointed through Engage PEI this month to represent their fellow residents – and more are being sought.

Health PEI is currently recruiting to fill vacancies on its board of directors. Applications will be accepted until next Friday, January 27 through Engage PEI, which helps Islanders apply to volunteer on more than 70 provincial government agencies, boards, and commissions.

“The Islanders who take these opportunities to get involved with government represent the diversity of our province, and they deserve our thanks,” Premier Wade MacLauchlan said. “They show how Islanders of every background, age, gender, and culture are willing to come together and make our province a better place.”

Health PEI’s board works on behalf of all Islanders to oversee the organization’s finances, care delivery, and CEO. It reports to the minister of Health and Wellness, advising the minister on health policy matters.

Board members are appointed to a three-year term and can be reappointed to two additional terms.

“Serving on the Health PEI board is an opportunity for Islanders with many different skills and backgrounds to directly impact health care policy on Prince Edward Island,” said Board Chair Phyllis Horne. “No direct health care experience is required, only a desire to help Health PEI provide safe, quality health care to Islanders when and where they need it.”

To learn more about – or apply online for – this and other agency, board, or commission vacancies that match your interests, visit Engage PEI.

Here are the 13 Islanders appointed or reappointed to seven agencies, boards and commissions on January 17.
Boiler and Pressure Vessels Advisory Board
Nancy Chaisson, Stratford
Sean Wheeler, Charlottetown
David McCarthy, Stratford
Kathe Nissen, Charlottetown 
Ray Peters, Hunter River
Farm Practices Review Board
Helga Miehle, New Dominion
Holland College Board of Governors
Bruce MacIsaac, Charlottetown    
Island Regulatory and Appeals Commission
Terry McKenna, Charlottetown
Jean Tingley (reappointment), Wheatley River
Island Waste Management Corporation
Karen Lavers, Charlottetown
Gabe Keough, Summerside
PEI Grain Elevators Corporation
James McIver, Albany
Maritime Provinces Higher Education Commission
Brad Colwill (Provincial Government of Prince Edward Island representative)

Media contact:
Mary Moszynski
Acting Director of Communications

General Inquiries

Office of the Premier
5th Floor South, Shaw Building
95 Rochford Street
PO Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE C1A 7N8

Phone: 902-368-4400
Fax: 902-368-4416