Engage PEI helps Islanders make a difference

Islanders get involved with their provincial government every month through Engage PEI, and new opportunities are always becoming available.
Engage PEI helps Islanders apply to volunteer on more than 70 government agencies, boards, and commissions. This January alone, 27 Islanders were appointed to serve on five boards; to find a vacancy that fits your interests, visit www.princeedwardisland.ca/engagepei-vacancies.  
“Prince Edward Island’s small size is our strength, because Islanders work together to make big things happen,” Premier Wade MacLauchlan said. “Since it was created more than two years ago, Engage PEI has helped hundreds of Islanders have their say on provincial government boards. We are the mighty Island partly because so many Islanders are willing to step forward and make our province a better place to live, work, and prosper.”
Up to 20 vacant positions become available on Engage PEI boards each month. Some vacancies require specific skill sets, so Islanders should regularly check for openings that suit their experience or interests. Engage PEI is currently searching for a member to represent the Summerside and Miscouche area on the Acadian and Francophone Advisory Committee.
To ensure you are considered when a vacancy becomes available, you are encouraged to submit an application in advance at www.princeedwardisland.ca/engagepei
Media contact:
Mary Moszynski
Office of the Premier
Here are the 27 people appointed or reappointed by cabinet to five agencies, boards and commissions in January.
Advisory Council on the Status of Women  
Yvonne Deagle,  (re-appointment) Chairperson Miminegash
Chris MacPhail Canoe Cove
Cathy Rose Fortune
Susan Sun Charlottetown
Employment Standards Board  
Don MacCormac, (re-appointment) Chairperson Charlottetown
Wayne Vessey, (re-appointment) Vice Chairperson Charlottetown
Dianne Arsenault, (re-appointment) Summerside
Dr. Blake Jelley Cornwall
Lila MacIsaac-Buchanan Summerside
Michael Podger Charlottetown
LPN Registration Board  
Muriel Steele (re-appointment) Souris
Vicki Bryanton (re-appointment) Bonshaw
Dr. Declan Fox (re-appointment) Tignish
Poverty Reduction Advisory Council   
Roxanne Carter-Thompson, Chair Mount Stewart
Marcia Carroll Charlottetown
Richard Deveau Charlottetown
Wil Gunning New London
Dr. Gulrose Jiwani Cornwall
Pamela Large Moran Charlottetown
Andrea MacDonald  Charlottetown
Ray Murphy Stratford
Dave Poirier Summerside
Tayte Willows Charlottetown
Regina Younker  Cornwall
Marilyn LeFrank Stanley Bridge

Slemon Park Corporation Board of Directors  
Matthew McGuire Tyne Valley
Ramona Roberts  Kinkora



General Inquiries

Executive Council Office
5th Floor, Shaw Building
95 Rochford Street
P.O. Box 2000,
Charlottetown, PE C1A 7N8

General Inquiries:
Phone: 902-368-4502
Fax: 902-368-6118


Engage PEI Inquiries: 

Visit Engage PEI to learn more about serving as a member of an agency, board or commission (ABC).
Engage PEI