Islanders appointed to government boards in April

Engage PEI helped 17 Islanders get involved with their provincial government this month.

The Islanders were appointed or reappointed to six government agencies, boards, or commissions in April. Engage PEI helps Islanders apply to fill vacancies on more than 70 such volunteer boards.

“The Islanders who take these opportunities to get involved with government represent the diversity of our province, and they deserve our thanks,” Premier Wade MacLauchlan said. “They show how Islanders of every background, age, gender, and culture make us a mighty Island by stepping forward to help make Prince Edward Island a better place.”

Occasionally an agency, board, or commission vacancy will have specific experience or qualifications. For example:

• the Criminal Code Review Board is seeking a member of the public who has experience in mental health or criminal justice – applicants should be female and reside outside Queen’s County, to preserve the board’s gender balance and geographic diversity.
To apply for this vacancy and others, visit Engage PEI.


Here are the 17 people appointed or reappointed to six agencies, boards and commissions by cabinet on April 18.
Animal Welfare Appeal Board
Name                       Community
Dr. John Drake (Chairperson), Charlottetown
Dr. Alice Crook (Vice chairperson), Charlottetown
Dr. Marti Hopson, Wheatley River
Dr. Kimberley Ryan MacDonald, Cardigan
Early Learning and Child Care Board
Name                  Community

Rachel Brookins, Charlottetown
Jason LeBlanc, Abrams Village
(representing La Federation des Parents de L’ile-du-Prince-Edouard Inc.)
Early Learning and Child Care Appeal Board
Name                  Community

Sophie MacDonald (Chairperson), Charlottetown
Mary Baird, Murray River
Carol Ford, Stratford
Lucy Maud Montgomery Foundation
Name                 Community

Dr. Francis W.P. Bolger (Chairperson), Charlottetown    
George Campbell, Kelvin Grove
Linda Boutiller, Kensington
Occupational Health and Safety Advisory Council
Name                Community

Vernon Anderson, Charlottetown
Danny Miller, Charlottetown
(representing the role of Director)
Stuart Affleck, Summerside
(representing the role of WCB Chair)
P.E.I. Museum and Heritage Foundation
Name             Community

Judi Allen, Cardigan
Vivian Beer, Charlottetown

General Inquiries

Office of the Premier
5th Floor South, Shaw Building
95 Rochford Street
PO Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE C1A 7N8

Phone: 902-368-4400
Fax: 902-368-4416