Islanders making their voices heard through Engage PEI

 Islanders continue to volunteer their time and expertise with the provincial government through Engage PEI. 

This month, 27 Islanders were appointed to 10 government agencies, boards and commissions. Engage PEI helps Islanders apply to join one of more than 70 such boards covering various subjects (for a full list of vacancies and to apply, visit www.princeedwardisland.ca/engagepei-vacancies.)

“In the last two years, hundreds upon hundreds of Islanders have been able to have their voice heard on government agencies, boards and commissions,” Premier Wade MacLauchlan said.  “The collective knowledge and dedication to communities across the province is a shining example of why Prince Edward Island is mighty – when Islanders step up and participate, it can make a lasting impact on our province years to come.”

“I want to thank everyone again for their dedication. Your involvement makes our province a wonderful place to live, work and succeed.”

Up to 20 vacancies are available every month. Examples of boards currently seeking new members are the:

• PEI Funeral Services and Professions Board;
• Provincial Apprenticeship Board; and 
• Workers Compensation Appeal Tribunal. 

Media contact:
Vicki Tse

Here are the 27 people appointed or reappointed to 10 agencies, boards, and commissions by cabinet in October.

Acadian and Francophone Community Advisory Committee
Jennifer McPhee, Miscouche
Carlo Lavoie, Charlottetown
Carol Horne, Charlottetown

Atlantic Provinces Harness Racing Commission
Kevin Jones, Cornwall

Community Health Engagement Committees
Helen Flynn, Charlottetown
Merrill Scott, Montague
Sandra MacFadyen, York
Patricia Charlton, Stratford
Whitney Harris, O’Leary
Blake Adams, O’Leary
Michelle Gaudet, Freetown
Lynn Anne Hogan,  Kensington
Brenda McAlduff, Summerside

Council of the College of Registered Nurses of PEI
Shirley Urquhart, Stratford
Lisa MacDougall, North Rustico

Fathers of Confederation Buildings Trust
Bob Sear, Charlottetown

Natural Product Appeals Tribunal
Brian Morrison, Charlottetown

Prince Edward Island Marketing Council
Karen Roche, Avondale

Regional Economic Advisory Council
Ruby Arsenault, St. Louis
(West Regional Economic Advisory Council)  
Christina MacLeod, Charlottetown
(Capital/Central Economic Advisory Council)

Social Assistance Appeal Board
Dale Murphy, Millcove
Rudy Croken, Kensington

Youth Futures Council
Sean MacPhee, Bonshaw
Teresa Tu, Charlottetown
Sarah Outram, Sherwood
Tayte Willows, Charlottetown
Brooks Roche, Montague

General Inquiries

Executive Council Office
5th Floor, Shaw Building
95 Rochford Street
P.O. Box 2000,
Charlottetown, PE C1A 7N8

General Inquiries:
Phone: 902-368-4502
Fax: 902-368-6118


Engage PEI Inquiries: 

Visit Engage PEI to learn more about serving as a member of an agency, board or commission (ABC).
Engage PEI