New forestry commission to help set a course for the future of PEI’s forests

A new forestry commission will help review the Island’s forest policy and legislation. 

“As we work to implement all the recommendations of the emergency forestry task force in the wake of Hurricane Fiona, our new forestry commission will help us with long term planning to increase the resiliency of our forests. Healthy forests are important for a healthy Island and our government is committed to managing our forests using the best available science and with the advice of local experts." 

- Environment, Energy and Climate Action Minister Steven Myers

PEI’s Forestry Commission will have 12 members plus Jean-Paul Arsenault as chair.  Membership will include woodlot owners, forest management practitioners who use both traditional and eco-based approaches, a public policy expert, a research scientist, a climate change researcher, an Indigenous representative, members of the watershed community, and members of the forestry profession.

The Commission will look at the real-world outcomes of extreme weather and identify ways to increase the resiliency of our forests to climate change. It will recommend changes that may be required to the Forest Enhancement Program and Forest Management Act. It will also identify key indicators to measure progress and assist with development of a new forest policy. This work will help address the findings of the Auditor General’s latest report to the Legislative Assembly as well. 

"My interest in forestry and land issues goes back a long way and I'm pleased that government has chosen to involve this group of people and the general public in setting the course for the forestry sector,” said Forestry Commission Chair Jean-Paul Arsenault. “I will be surrounded by a very strong slate of commission members with a broad range of backgrounds and knowledge. I also know that we can count on the Forests, Fish and Wildlife division to provide us with the support we will need."

To find more information, visit: PEI Forestry Commission.

Media contact:
Katie MacDonald
Department of Environment, Energy and Climate Action


Forestry Commission Membership

Jean-Paul Arsenault of Charlottetown. Mr. Arsenault is a fluently bilingual Islander with extensive forestry, human resources and public policy experience.  He assisted with the Round Table on Resource Land Use and Stewardship (1996), The Commission on Land Use and Local Governance (aka Thompson Commission, 2010), and the Commission on the Lands Protection Act (aka Carver Commission, 2013).

Marcel Arsenault, Abram-village
Reg Conohan, Cardigan
Jerry Gavin, Northport
Matt Hughes, Kelly’s Cross
John MacQuarrie, Charlottetown
Dr. Kathy Martin, Stanhope
Keila Millar, Souris
Krystal Pyke, Charlottetown
Gary Schneider, Stratford
Zora Wendt, Breadalbane
Sarah Wheatley, Suffolk
Mi’kmaq Confederacy of PEI (To Be Confirmed)

General Inquiries

Forests, Fish and Wildlife Division
J. Frank Gaudet Tree Nursery
183 Upton Road
Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE C1A 7N8

Phone: 902-368-6450

Wildlife Emergencies:

Like us on Facebook

Call 911 to report wildfires.