Genealogy at the Public Archives

W. W. Judson and his family posing for a photograph outdoors in front of the family home, 1898 (Acc3466/HF72.66.7.27.1)

The Public Archives and Records Office has a large collection of genealogical material including primary sources, finding aids, and indexes. Some of the major resources are listed below. If you are new to genealogy, Tracing Your Family History in PEI has tips to help you get started.

The Master Name Index

One of the Archives’ most popular resources, the Master Name Index is a set of alphabetical card catalogues. Entries have been compiled from cemetery transcripts, census records, extant passenger lists, marriage registers, selected newspapers, the 1880 Meacham’s Atlas, funeral home registers, and other original sources.

 

Births, marriages, and deaths

With no civil registry before 1906, researchers looking for early vital statistics information rely largely on existing church records. The quality varies considerably and many records have been lost over the years. Beginning in 1906, civil records for births, marriages, and deaths were collected more consistently. The following restrictions apply:   

  • Births: Restricted for 120 years after the date of the event;
  • Marriages: Restricted for 75 years after the date of the event;
  • Deaths: Restricted for 50 years after the date of the event. Note: Cause of death is permanently confidential.

For births, marriages, and deaths still under restrictions, to request cause of death information, or to request official copies of certificates and licenses, contact Vital Statistics, 126 Douses Road, Montague, PE, C0A 1R0, (902) 838-0887 or 1-877-320-1253 (toll-free in Canada).

The Public Archives has the following sources of vital statistics information:

Vital statistics records

  • Baptisms to ca. 1923: Records are indexed by the name of the child baptized. The information was taken from available church records and usually includes the child's name, date of birth and baptism, parents’ names, and reference to the church record, many of which are available at the Archives. Baptisms can be searched online through the PARO Collections Database.
  • Deaths prior to 1906: An alphabetical listing of death or burial records taken from church records, newspaper announcements, and unidentified sources. Information given is limited and references may be impossible to trace. These records can be searched online through the PARO Collections Database.
  • Deaths, 1906–1960: Microfilmed copies of the death registrations and related indexes are available in the Reading Room. Cause of death is not given. Death records are added to the PARO Collections Database every month so check back for new additions.
  • Marriage Register Books, 1832–1923: Records of marriage returns from the clergy and justices of the peace. Information includes name, marital status, and place of residence of bride and groom, date of marriage, names of witnesses, and officiant. Parents’ names are not given. These records are indexed in the Master Name Index.
  • Marriage Licenses, 1787–1936; Marriage Bonds, 1849–1902: These are separate collections of bonds and licenses indexed by bride and groom. Information is similar to that in the marriage register books although the bonds do not include the date of the ceremony. Parents' names are not included in marriage records before the 1920s. Marriage licenses up to 1919 are available through the PARO Collections Database.
  • Marriage License Cash Books, 1879–1970: These records are organized by county and provide a chronological listing of marriage licenses issued through the Provincial Secretary's Office. Information includes the names and marital status of the parties, place of residence, name of the person to whom the license was issued, the bondsman, and the date.

Church records

Most churches kept records of baptisms, marriages, and deaths. The Archives has copies of many church records on microfilm. Indexes are available for some records of the Church of Scotland, St. John's Presbyterian Church in Belfast, St. Peter's Anglican Church in Charlottetown, and St. Ann's Roman Catholic Church on Lennox Island. The type and amount of information in these records varies. Deaths were often poorly documented compared to baptisms and marriages. Marriage records, particularly those of the Catholic Church, may include parents' names. Restrictions on access vary according to the individual church. Catholic Church records after 1900 are restricted.

Cemetery transcripts

Inscriptions from existing gravestones have been indexed into the Master Name Index. Cemetery booklets are also available in the Reading Room. As well as dates of birth and death, these records may establish family relationships, indicate place of origin, or offer miscellaneous genealogical data.

Newspapers

Most PEI newspapers are available on microfilm at the Public Archives or the University of Prince Edward Island's Robertson Library. Digital copies of the Guardian newspaper (1890-1957) are searchable online through the Island Newspapers website. Notices of births, marriages, and deaths are of uneven quality depending on the date and newspaper. Some newspapers were indexed into the Master Name Index for vital statistics or other information, but the vast majority of newspapers are not indexed. It is important to have a specific date or newspaper searches can be extremely time-consuming.  

 

Census records

Census records for PEI cover the period from 1728 to 1921, with gaps. Almost every census is missing records for some lots and the information recorded varies considerably. Starting in 1881, census records list the name, gender, and age of each person living in the household and give more detail regarding place of birth, education, occupation, and family relationships. Users can access census records up to 1911 in the Archives Reading Room. The 1841, 1881, 1891, and 1901 census returns can also be searched through the PARO Collections Database and an index to the 1911 census can be found at AutomatedGenealogy.com

Note: The 1921 census is not available at the Public Archives. Visit Library and Archives Canada’s website for information on accessing 1921 census records.

 

Land records and maps

Land records can establish that your ancestors were on PEI in a given year, pinpoint a location so records arranged by lot can be more easily used, and help trace the movement of your family. Land records may include the purchaser's place of origin, occupation, or spouse's name. Researchers should note that until October 1939, land could be transferred by will alone without registration of the transaction. In addition to land records, maps can be particularly useful in tracing who was on a specific piece of property at a given time.

Most of the Archives’ land-related documents date from before 1900. Post-1900 land records are found at the Registry of Deeds (Land Registry), Charlottetown Office, in the Jones Building, 11 Kent Street, Charlottetown, PE, (902) 368-4591. Some records at the Archives that may be of interest include:

  • Conveyances: The first series of land conveyances covers all of PEI from 1769 to 1873, while records after 1873 are arranged by county. The conveyances are indexed alphabetically and also contain some leases, mortgages, court judgments, and powers of attorney.  
  • Leases: Though an index exists, leases were not transcribed into registry books like the conveyances. The original lease and its counterpart were kept by the parties to the rental agreement. The Archives’ collection of leases is made up of documents turned in to the government in exchange for crown deeds. The names recorded on these documents can be a valuable source of genealogical information.
  • Crown Deeds and Township Ledgers: Following the first Land Purchase Act of 1853, tenants were allowed to purchase their land from the government who had bought it from the proprietors. After a series of payments, recorded in township ledgers, a deed was issued. These deeds may contain information about previous transactions and may record the number of the original lease.
  • Maps and Plans: In addition to the 1863 Lake Map, the 1880 Meacham's Atlas, and the ca. 1928 Cummins Atlas, which contain maps with residents' names for all lots, the Archives has a large collection of manuscript maps of the Island and individual lots. Many show property boundaries. Although the quantity and quality of maps varies, they may be useful in establishing a family's location at a particular time. Maps may also contain land record reference numbers for a deed, lease, or township ledger entry. A number of the Archives’ maps have been digitized and are available online through the Island Imagined website.
  • Rent Books: Recording payment of rent by tenants, rent books kept by proprietors or their agents may be the only source establishing your ancestors' place of residence. Rent books have not survived for all lots and time periods.
  • Petitions: Petitions made to Executive Council (1780–1837) contain some requests for land. These have been indexed in the Master Name Index and can also be searched online through the PARO Collections Database.
  • Warrants of Survey: Issued by the Crown, these land survey orders exist for some Loyalist allotments for the years 1784–1803.

 

Court records

The Public Archives has an extensive collection of records from various PEI courts dating from the 1790s to the 1950s. The genealogical information in some cases may be marginal, but the records can shed light on the broader circumstances of your ancestors' lives. Some records you may find useful include:

  • Probate Records: Wills and administrations may contain family names and clarify relationships. They are also useful for documenting pre-1939 land transfers. The Archives has indexes, register copies of wills, estate packages, and administrations from 1807 to 1930. Post-1930 records are kept at the Estates Section, Sir Louis Henry Davies Law Courts, 42 Water Street, PO Box 2000, Charlottetown, PE, C1A 7N8, (902) 368-6000.
  • Supreme Court Records: The Archives has a large collection of Supreme Court documents from 1787 to 1958 including minute books and case papers. The quality and quantity of case papers varies considerably, but these records may establish date of residence in a particular locality and give details of your ancestor's life.
  • Inquests: These records document inquiries into deaths from unusual circumstances and date from 1789 to 1969. There are gaps and not all inquests have survived. The amount of documentation varies, but there is usually a report of the coroner's jury convened to conduct the inquest. These records may be useful in providing relationships as well as locations of family members. Up to 1850, all names included in the case files, including those of the jurors, are indexed in the Master Name Index.

The Archives does not have adoption records. For access or information contact the Provincial Adoption Coordinator.

 

Directories

The Archives has a collection of provincial and city directories dating from 1864. Directories were published sporadically, often with approximately a ten year interval between volumes. They usually give an alphabetical listing of residents by community or location with an indication of their occupation. In the case of Charlottetown and Summerside, they may also give a listing by street address. 

 

Genealogies and family files

The Archives has a large collection of bound genealogies and family files. The family files contain loose material including genealogical notes, pedigree charts, family group sheets, newspaper clippings, and correspondence received from multiple donors. The information has not been verified by Archives staff but the family files and bound genealogies can provide useful clues for researchers.

 

Community and church histories

A large part of a community's history revolves around the individuals and families who lived there. Most community histories contain sections devoted to genealogies of local families and there is always information about individuals in the community, such as the local schoolteacher, postmaster, or farmer. The church was often the centre of the social and religious life of a community, making church histories another useful resource. The Archives has many church and community histories available on site. Many of these sources are also available through the PEI Public Library Service.

 

Genealogy from a distance

Not able to visit the Archives in person? The following resources are available to you:

Published date: 
May 24, 2015
Education, Early Learning and Culture

General Inquiries

Public Archives and Records Office
4th Floor, Hon. George Coles Building
175 Richmond Street
PO Box 1000
Charlottetown, PE   C1A 7M4

Phone: (902) 368-4290
Fax: (902) 368-6327

archives@gov.pe.ca

June to September:
Monday to Friday, 9am - 4pm

October to May:
Monday, Closed
Tuesday to Friday, 10am - 5pm
Thursday evenings, 6:30pm - 9pm

Closed weekends and holidays.

All visitors to the Coles Building are required to sign in at the Security Desk on the main level.

Wheelchair access is available through the ramp on the Church Street side of the building.

Généalogie aux Archives publiques

W. W. Judson et sa famille pris en photo devant le domicile familial en 1898 (Acc3466/HF72.66.7.27.1)

Le Bureau des archives et des documents publics possède une vaste collection de documents généalogiques, notamment des sources primaires, des instruments de recherche et des index. Certaines des principales ressources sont indiquées ci‑après. Si la généalogie est un domaine nouveau pour vous, vous trouverez des conseils pour orienter vos recherches à Retracer l'histoire de votre famille à l'Î.-P.-É..

 

Index principal des noms

L’index principal des noms, une des ressources les plus consultées aux Archives provinciales, est une liste de catalogues sur fiches par ordre alphabétique. Les entrées proviennent des sources suivantes : transcriptions de pierres tombales de divers cimetières, données de recensement, listes de passagers encore disponibles, registres de mariages, journaux sélectionnés, Atlas de Meacham de 1880 et registres de maisons funéraires, et d’autres sources originales.

 

Naissances, mariages et décès

Vu l’absence de registres de l’état civil avant 1906, les personnes qui cherchent des données d’état civil antérieures se fient largement aux registres paroissiaux dont la qualité varie grandement. De nombreux registres ont été perdus au fil des ans. Depuis 1906, les données de l’état civil sur les naissances, les mariages et les décès ont été recueillies plus régulièrement. Les restrictions suivantes s’appliquent :   

  • Naissances : Diffusion restreinte pendant 120 ans après la date de l’événement;
  • Mariages : Diffusion restreinte pendant 75 ans après la date de l’événement;
  • Décès : Diffusion restreinte pendant 50 ans après la date de l’événement. À noter : La cause des décès demeure confidentielle.

Pour les données à diffusion restreinte concernant les naissances, les mariages et les décès, pour des renseignements sur la cause d’un décès ou pour des copies officielles de certificats ou de permis, communiquez avec les Statistiques de l'état civil, 126, chemin Douses, Montague (Î.‑P.‑É.),  C0A 1R0, tél. : 902‑838-0887 ou 1-877-320-1253 (sans frais au Canada).

Les Archives publiques possèdent les sources d’information suivantes sur les statistiques de l’état civil :

Registres de  l’état civil

  • Baptêmes jusqu’à vers 1923 : Les registres sont indexés par le nom de l’enfant baptisé. Les renseignements proviennent des registres paroissiaux existants qui précisent habituellement le nom, la date de naissance et la date du baptême de l‘enfant, les noms des parents et le registre paroissial. Plusieurs registres sont conservés aux Archives. Une recherche sur les baptêmes peut être faite en ligne dans la base de données sur les collections PARO.
  • Décès avant 1906 : Une liste alphabétique des répertoires des décès ou des actes de sépulture est tirée des registres paroissiaux, des annonces dans les journaux et de sources non identifiées. L’information fournie est restreinte, et il peut être impossible de retracer les références. Ces documents peuvent être consultés dans la base de données sur les collections PARO.
  • Décès, 1906–1960 : Des copies microfilmées des documents de décès et des index connexes sont accessibles dans la salle de lecture. La cause des décès n’est pas indiquée. Des documents de décès sont ajoutés chaque mois à la base de données sur les collections PARO. Consultez la base de données souvent pour les ajouts.
  • Registres de mariages, 1832–1923 : Registres de documents d’information sur les mariages soumis par le clergé et les juges de paix qui précisent le nom, l’état matrimonial, le lieu de résidence du futur marié et de la future mariée, la date du mariage, les noms des témoins et le nom du célébrant. Les noms des parents ne sont pas inscrits. Ces registres figurent dans l’index principal des noms.
  • Permis de mariage, 1787–1936; cautionnements de mariage, 1849–1902 : Ces collections distinctes de cautionnements de mariage et de permis de mariage sont indexées par futur marié et future mariée. L’information consignée est semblable à celle des registres de mariages; toutefois, la date de la cérémonie n’est pas indiquée sur les cautionnements. Les noms des parents ne figurent pas sur les actes de mariage avant les années 1920. Les permis de mariage jusqu’en 1919 se trouvent dans la base de données sur les collections PARO.
  • Livres de caisse relatifs aux permis de mariage, 1879–1970 : Ces documents sont structurés en comté et fournissent une liste chronologique des permis de mariage délivrés par le bureau du secrétaire provincial. Ils contiennent les renseignements suivants : noms et état matrimonial des parties, lieu de résidence, nom de la personne à laquelle le permis a été délivré, garant et date.

Registres paroissiaux

La plupart des églises tenaient des registres des actes de baptême, des mariages et des décès. Les Archives possèdent des copies de nombreux registres paroissiaux microfilmés. Les index sont disponibles pour certains registres de l’Église d’Écosse, de l’Église presbytérienne St. John's de Belfast, de l’Église anglicane St. Peter's de Charlottetown et de l’Église catholique romaine St. Ann's de Lennox Island. Le type et le volume d’information consignés dans ces registres varient. Les décès étaient souvent peu documentés comparativement aux baptêmes et aux mariages. Les registres de mariages, surtout ceux de l’Église catholique, peuvent comprendre les noms des parents. Des restrictions d’accès varient selon les églises. La diffusion des archives de l’Église catholique après 1900 est restreinte.

Transcriptions de pierres tombales de divers cimetières

Les inscriptions sur les pierres tombales existantes figurent dans l’index principal des noms. Les livrets de cimetière sont aussi disponibles dans la salle de lecture. En plus de préciser les dates de naissance et de décès, ces documents peuvent établir les liens familiaux, indiquer le lieu d’origine ou contenir diverses données généalogiques.

Journaux

La plupart des journaux de l’Î.‑P.‑É. sont disponibles sur microfilm aux Archives ou à la bibliothèque Robertson de l’Université de l’Île‑du‑Prince‑Édouard. Des copies numériques du journal The Guardian (1890-1957) peuvent être consultées en ligne sur le site Web Island Newspapers. La qualité des avis de naissance, de mariage et de décès est inégale, selon la date et le journal. Certains journaux figurent dans l’index principal des noms pour l’état civil ou d’autres renseignements, mais la plupart des journaux ne sont pas indexés. Il est important de connaître la date ou le nom du journal, puisque la recherche dans les journaux peut prendre beaucoup de temps.  

 

Données de recensement

Les données de recensement de l’Î.‑P.‑É. couvrent la période de 1728 à 1921 et comportent certaines disparités. À presque tous les recensements, les données pour certains lots sont incomplètes, et les renseignements recueillis varient considérablement. À partir de 1881, les données de recensement indiquent le nom, le sexe et l’âge de chaque membre du ménage, et fournissent plus de détails sur le lieu de naissance, la scolarité, l’occupation et les liens familiaux. Les utilisateurs peuvent accéder aux données de recensement jusqu’à 1911 dans la salle de lecture aux Archives. Les résultats des recensements de 1841, 1881, 1891 et 1901 peuvent aussi être consultés dans la base de données sur les collections PARO. L’index du recensement de 1911 se trouve à AutomatedGenealogy.com

À noter : Le recensement de 1921 n’est pas accessible aux Archives publiques. Visitez le site Web de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada pour de l'information sur l'accès aux données du recensement de 1921.

 

Cartes et documents relatifs aux terres

Les documents relatifs aux terres peuvent attester la présence de vos ancêtres à l’Î.‑P.‑É. à une année donnée, localiser un endroit pour faciliter la consultation des documents structurés par lot et aider à retracer les déplacements de votre famille. Ils peuvent préciser le lieu d’origine et l’occupation de l’acheteur, ou le nom de sa conjointe. Avis aux chercheurs - jusqu’en octobre 1939, les terres pouvaient être transférées par testament seulement sans que le transfert soit enregistré. Les cartes peuvent aussi être très utiles pour déterminer qui occupait un bien‑fonds et à quel moment.

Les documents relatifs aux terres conservés aux Archives provinciales sont pour la plupart antérieurs à 1900. Les documents postérieurs à 1900 se trouvent dans le Registry of Deeds (Land Registry), bureau de Charlottetown, Édifice Jones, 11, rue Kent, Charlottetown (Î.‑P.‑É.), tél. : 902‑368-4591. Voici quelques documents conservés aux Archives qui pourraient vous intéresser :

  • Actes de transfert : La première série d’actes de transfert couvre toute l’Î.‑P.‑É., de 1769 à 1873. Les documents après 1873 sont structurés par comté. Les actes de transfert sont indexés en ordre alphabétique et contiennent quelques baux, hypothèques, décisions judiciaires et procurations.  
  • Baux : Même s’il existe un index, les baux n’ont pas été transcrits dans les registres comme pour les actes de transfert. Les signataires du contrat de location conservaient le bail original et ses contreparties. La collection de baux des Archives est constituée de documents remis au gouvernement en échange d’actes de transfert de terres de la Couronne. Les noms inscrits sur ces documents peuvent être une précieuse source de renseignements généalogiques.
  • Registres de cantons et d’actes de transfert de terres de la Couronne : La première Land Purchase Act (loi sur l’acquisition des terres) qui a été adoptée en 1853 autorisait les locataires à acheter leurs terres du gouvernement qui les avaient acquises des propriétaires. À la suite de paiements consignés dans les registres de cantons, un acte de transfert était délivré. Ces actes de transfert peuvent contenir des renseignements sur les transactions antérieures et préciser le numéro du bail original.
  • Cartes et plans : À part la carte de Lake datant de 1863, l’Atlas de Meacham datant de 1880 et l’Atlas de Cummins créé vers 1928 qui contiennent des cartes avec les noms des résidents pour tous les lots, les Archives possèdent une grande collection de cartes manuscrites de l’Île et de lots individuels. Plusieurs cartes délimitent les propriétés. Même si elles varient en nombre et en qualité, les cartes peuvent être utiles pour déterminer l’endroit où vivait une famille à un moment donné. Elles peuvent aussi contenir des numéros de renvoi aux documents relatifs aux terres concernant un acte de transfert, un bail ou une entrée du registre de cantons. Un certain nombre de cartes conservées aux Archives ont été numérisées. Elles sont accessibles en ligne sur le site Web Island Imagined.
  • Registres de loyers : Les paiements de loyer par les locataires étaient consignés dans des registres par les propriétaires ou leurs agents. Ces registres peuvent être la seule source établissant le lieu de résidence de vos ancêtres. On ne dispose pas de tels registres pour tous les lots et toutes les époques.
  • Requêtes : Les requêtes soumises au Conseil exécutif (1780–1837) comportent des demandes de terres. Celles‑ci figurent dans l’index principal des noms et peuvent être consultées en ligne dans la base de données des collections PARO.
  • Mandats d’arpentage : Délivrés par la Couronne, ces ordres d’arpentage ont été donnés pour certains lotissements attribués à des Loyalistes, de 1784 à 1803.

 

Archives des tribunaux

Les Archives publiques possèdent une vaste collection de documents de divers tribunaux de l’Î.‑P.‑É., des années 1790 aux années 1950. Dans certains cas, les renseignements généalogiques peuvent être limités, mais les documents peuvent clarifier les circonstances entourant le mode de vie de vos ancêtres. Voici quelques archives qui peuvent vous être utiles :

  • Registres judiciaires : Les testaments et les administrations successorales peuvent contenir les noms de famille et clarifier les liens. Ils servent aussi à documenter le transfert des terres avant 1939. Les Archives possèdent des index, des copies de registres relatifs aux testaments, des dossiers de succession et des administrations successorales, de 1807 à 1930. Les documents postérieurs à 1930 sont conservés à la section des successions du Palais de justice Sir Louis Henry Davies, 42, rue Water, C.P. 2000, Charlottetown (Î.‑P.‑É), C1A 7N8, tél. : 902-368-6000.
  • Archives de la Cour suprême : Les Archives possèdent une grande collection de documents de la Cour suprême de 1787 à 1958, notamment des plumitifs et documents de cas. Le nombre de documents de cas et leur qualité varient considérablement, mais ces documents peuvent établir la date de résidence dans une localité et fournir des détails sur la vie de vos ancêtres.
  • Rapports d’enquête : Ces rapports documentent les enquêtes menées sur des décès survenus dans des circonstances inhabituelles, de 1789 à 1969. Il y a des disparités. On ne possède pas les rapports de toutes les enquêtes. Le nombre de documents varie, mais il y a habituellement un rapport du jury du coroner constitué pour réaliser l’enquête. Ces documents peuvent établir les liens familiaux et préciser le lieu de résidence des membres de la famille. Jusqu’en 1850, tous les noms inscrits dans les documents de cas, y compris ceux des jurés, figurent dans l’index principal des noms.

Les Archives ne possèdent pas de documents d’adoptions. Pour accès ou information, communiquez avec la coordonnatrice provinciale des adoptions.

 

Annuaires

Les Archives possèdent une collection d’annuaires provinciaux et de ville qui remontent à 1864. Les annuaires, qui étaient publiés de façon sporadique, souvent environ tous les dix ans, contiennent habituellement une liste alphabétique des résidents par communauté ou endroit, indiquant aussi leur occupation. Ceux de Charlottetown et de Summerside peuvent aussi fournir une liste par adresse municipale. 

 

Généalogie et dossiers familiaux

Les Archives possèdent une grande collection de dossiers familiaux et de documents généalogiques reliés. Les dossiers familiaux contiennent divers documents, notamment des notes généalogiques, des tableaux d’ascendance, des fiches de famille, des coupures de journaux et des lettres reçues de nombreux donateurs. Le personnel des Archives n’a pas vérifié l’information, mais les dossiers familiaux et les documents généalogiques reliés peuvent fournir des indices utiles aux chercheurs.

 

Histoires des églises et des communautés

Les histoires des communautés portent surtout sur les individus et les familles qui la composent. Elles contiennent pour la plupart des sections sur les généalogies de familles locales, et de l’information sur les membres de la communauté, par exemple la maîtresse d’école locale, le maître de poste ou un cultivateur. L’église était souvent au cœur de la vie religieuse et sociale de la communauté. Les histoires des églises sont une autre ressource utile. Les Archives possèdent de nombreuses histoires des églises et des communautés dont un grand nombre sont accessibles par l’entremise du Service des bibliothèques publiques de l'Î.P.É.

 

Généalogie à distance

Les ressources suivantes sont à la disposition de ceux qui ne peuvent se rendre aux Archives :

Date de publication : 
le 24 Mai 2015
Éducation, Développement préscolaire et Culture

Renseignements généraux

Public Archives and Records Office
4th Floor, Hon. George Coles Building
175 Richmond Street
PO Box 1000
Charlottetown, PE   C1A 7M4

Phone: (902) 368-4290
Fax: (902) 368-6327

archives@gov.pe.ca

June to September:
Monday to Friday, 9am - 4pm

October to May:
Monday, Closed
Tuesday to Friday, 10am - 5pm
Thursday evenings, 6:30pm - 9pm

Closed weekends and holidays.

All visitors to the Coles Building are required to sign in at the Security Desk on the main level.

Wheelchair access is available through the ramp on the Church Street side of the building.

Holiday Hours:

Friday, Dec. 22: 10am - 12pm
​Monday, Dec. 25: CLOSED
Tuesday, Dec. 26: CLOSED
Wednesday, Dec. 27: 10am - 5pm
​Thursday, Dec. 28: 10am - 5pm (note: no evening hours)
Friday, Dec. 29: 10am - 5pm
​Monday, Jan. 1: CLOSED