Search Public Archives Material Online

Archival material can be searched online through our databases: the PARO Collections Database and Memory PEI.

What is the PARO Collections Database?

The PARO Collections Database can be searched for item-level access to vital statistics records, census material, and some of our most popular archival content, including maps, architectural plans, photographs, and other material. Where available, a digital scan of the original can also be accessed through the online database. Some of the major collections currently available online include:

Vital Statistics Records

  • Baptisms (including the former PEI Baptismal Index, 1777-1923)
  • Marriage licences, 1827-1919 (includes digitized originals, 1827-1888) 
  • Marriage registrations, 1920-1936
  • Deaths, pre-1906  
  • Death registrations, 1906-1968 

Census Records

Census records for 1841, 1881, 1891, and 1901 (formerly the Census Documents Data Search) 

Archival Collections

  • Photographs 
  • Architectural plans
  • Maps 
  • Petitions (formerly the PEI Petition Index, 1780-1915; includes digitized originals) 
  • Supreme Court case files, 1770-1959
Please note: Records and images obtained through the PARO Collections Database are for research and private study only. Please contact the Public Archives for any other use, or to inquire about copies of our holdings.

How do I search the PARO Collections database?

You can search with standard search or advanced search using keyword, name, date or accession number. Search tip: Use the Advanced Search when doing genealogical research.

For a more successful search for individuals, try variations of name spellings, nicknames, or in the case of given names, possible second or third names as well as initials. Refer to the list of common abbreviations and nicknames

Use the wildcard “*” within search terms to broaden search results and account for spelling variations in names. For instance, a search for “m*cneil*” will retrieve MacNeil, McNeil, MacNeill, and McNeill results. You can also use the wildcard to separate multiple search terms when doing a keyword search (eg. “charlottetown*park”) or to search a date range (eg. “191*”).

What is Memory PEI?

Memory PEI is the archival description database for the Public Archives. The database contains close to 1200 archival descriptions or “finding aids,” including government records and private sector material, held by the Archives. Using Memory PEI you can learn about specific collections that might be of interest to your research, as well as information about the people and organizations that created those records.  In many cases file or item lists are also available in PDF format through the database.

How do I search Memory PEI?

To begin searching Memory PEI, enter a keyword in the banner search box, or use the browse options to begin exploring PEI's documentary heritage. More information and search tips can be found on the About Memory PEI page.

What else does the Public Archives provide online?

In addition to the PARO Collections Database and Memory PEI, the Public Archives offers:

What if I need help finding information on my topic?

Only a fraction of the Public Archives' holdings are available online. Visit the Archives in person to access the complete collection. If you're not able to visit, you can submit a question by mail, email or phone. Staff can undertake limited research in response to specific inquiries. Requests will be processed in the order in which they are received. A response may take two to four weeks but is usually completed sooner.

Education and Lifelong Learning

General Inquiries

The Archives is taking COVID-19 precautions. 
 
There is a limit of five (5) researchers permitted in the Reading Room at one time. Researchers are asked to book an appointment in advance by calling 902-368-4290 or emailing archives@gov.pe.ca. Limited walk-in bookings may be available on a first come, first served basis.
 

Public Archives and Records Office
Atlantic Technology Centre (ATC), Suite L20
176 Great George Street
PO Box 1000
Charlottetown, PE C1A 7M4

Phone: 902-368-4290
Fax: 902-368-6327

archives@gov.pe.ca

Starting October 13, 2020:

Monday, Closed
Tuesday to Friday, 10am-4pm
Thursday evening, 5pm-7:30pm

Consulter les archives publiques en ligne

Les archives peuvent être consultées en ligne par l’entremise de deux bases de données : la base de données des collections du Bureau des archives et des documents publics (en anglais) et Memory PEI (en anglais).

Qu’est-ce que la base de données des collections du Bureau des archives et des documents publics?

Il est possible de consulter la base de données des collections du Bureau des archives et des documents publics (BADP) afin de trouver des registres d’état civil, des documents de recensement et des archives populaires comme des cartes, des plans architecturaux, des photos et autres. Si une version numérisée du document original existe, il est possible d’y accéder par l’entremise de la base de données. Parmi les principales collections se trouvant en ligne, il y a :

Registres d’état civil

  • Baptêmes (y compris l’ancien répertoire provincial des baptêmes [1777-1923])
  • Permis de mariage de 1827 à 1919 (y compris une version numérisée des originaux [1827-1888])
  • Déclarations de mariage de 1920 à 1936
  • Décès avant 1906
  • Déclarations de décès de 1906 à 1964

Documents de recensement

Document de recensement de 1841, de 1881, de 1891 et de 1901 (anciennement dans le « Census Documents Data Search »).

Collections d’archives

  • Photos
  • Plans architecturaux
  • Cartes
  • Pétitions (anciennement le répertoire provincial des pétitions [1780-1915]; comprend des originaux numérisés) 
  • Dossiers de la Cour suprême de 1770 à 1959

À noter : Les documents et les images de la base de données des collections du BADP sont rendus accessibles pour des fins de recherche et d’étude personnelles seulement. Veuillez communiquer avec les Archives publiques avant de vous en servir pour tout autre usage ou pour demander des copies.

Comment dois-je procéder pour consulter la base de données des collections du BADP?

Vous pouvez faire une recherche normale ou avancée en entrant des mots-clés, des noms, des dates ou un numéro d’entrée. Conseil : Utilisez la fonction « Advanced Search » (recherche avancée) lorsque vous faites une recherche généalogique.

Pour réussir à trouver de l’information sur une personne, essayez d’épeler son nom de différentes façons et d’entrer son surnom ou son deuxième ou troisième prénom et ses initiales. Jetez un coup d’œil à la liste des abréviations et des surnoms communs (en anglais). 

Utilisez l’astérisque « * » dans vos termes de recherches pour obtenir plus de résultats et tenir compte des variations possibles dans l’épellation. Par exemple, si vous faites votre recherche en entrant « m*cneil* », vous obtiendrez les résultats pour MacNeil, McNeil, MacNeill et McNeill. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser l’astérisque pour séparer des termes dans une recherche par mots-clés (ex. : « Charlottetown*park ») ou pour faire une recherche par période (ex. : « 191* »).

Qu’est-ce que Memory PEI?

Memory PEI est la base de données des descriptions archivistiques des Archives publiques. La base de données regroupe plus de 1200 descriptions archivistiques ou « instrument de recherche », notamment des documents gouvernementaux et des documents du secteur privé conservés par les Archives. Grâce à Memory PEI, vous pouvez vous renseigner sur les collections qui pourraient vous intéresser dans le cadre de votre recherche et sur les gens et les organismes ayant créé ces documents. Dans de nombreux cas, une liste des dossiers ou des articles en format PDF est accessible par l’entremise de la base de données.

Comment puis-je consulter Memory PEI?

Pour faire une recherche dans Memory PEI et ainsi commencer à explorer le patrimoine documentaire de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, entrez un mot-clé dans le champ de recherche de la page d’accueil ou choisissez une option de navigation. Vous pouvez trouver plus d’information et de conseils de recherche dans la section « À propos » (en anglais) de Memory PEI.

Les Archives publiques offrent-elles d’autres services en ligne?

En plus de la base de données des collections du BADP et de Memory PEI, les Archives publiques offrent :

Puis-je obtenir de l’aide pour trouver de l’information sur mon sujet?

Seulement une fraction des documents des Archives publiques sont disponibles en ligne. Visitez leurs bureaux pour accéder à l’ensemble des archives. Si vous ne pouvez vous y rendre, vous pouvez soumettre vos questions par la poste, par courriel ou par téléphone. Le personnel peut faire une recherche de petite envergure pour répondre à votre demande d’information. Les demandes seront traitées selon l’ordre de leur réception. Vous devriez recevoir une réponse dans un délai de deux à quatre semaines (habituellement avant).

Éducation, Développement préscolaire et Culture

Renseignements généraux

Public Archives and Records Office
4th Floor, Hon. George Coles Building
175 Richmond Street
PO Box 1000
Charlottetown, PE C1A 7M4

Phone: (902) 368-4290
Fax: (902) 368-6327

archives@gov.pe.ca

June to September:
Monday to Friday, 9am - 4pm

October to May:
Monday, Closed
Tuesday to Friday, 10am - 5pm
Thursday evenings, 6:30pm - 9pm

Closed weekends and holidays.

All visitors to the Coles Building are required to sign in at the Security Desk on the main level.

Wheelchair access is available through the ramp on the Church Street side of the building.