Branches of Government

The provincial government is responsible for making and enforcing laws, collecting taxes, and providing public services such as healthcare and education. It is accountable to all citizens of the province, representing their interests and acting on their concerns.

There are three branches of the provincial government in PEI:

  • Legislative Assembly, made up of elected provincial representatives who introduce, debate and pass provincial laws. Visit the Legislative Assembly of Prince Edward Island.
  • Executive Branch, comprised of the premier, executive council (cabinet) and all departments of the provincial government, this branch implements, administers and enforces all provincial laws created by the Legislative Assembly. For more information go to Executive Council Office
  • Judiciary, made up of the Prince Edward Island Court of Appeal, the Supreme Court of Prince Edward Island and the Provincial Court of Prince Edward Island. The judicial arm of government administers justice, interpreting and applying all laws federal and provincial laws to protect the rights of citizens and penalize those who break the law. The judiciary branch operates independently of the other branches of government. Visit the Courts of Prince Edward Island. 

All three provincial government branches operate under the power and authority of the Crown, who is the Head of State. Her Majesty is represented in Prince Edward Island by the Lieutenant Governor. Visit the Office of the Lieutenant Governor.



Published date: 
September 22, 2023
Executive Council Office

General Inquiries

Contact Government
or use the Feedback tab to share your comments and feedback