Atlantic Provinces Form Travel Bubble

Newfoundland and Labrador Premier Dwight Ball, chair of the Council of Atlantic Premiers, was joined by New Brunswick Premier Blaine Higgs, Prince Edward Island Premier Dennis King, and Nova Scotia Premier Stephen McNeil today in committing to ease travel restrictions in Atlantic Canada as COVID-19 case numbers remain low in each province.

Interprovincial travel without the requirement to self-isolate will be permitted in Newfoundland and Labrador, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia, for residents of Atlantic Canada as of July 3, 2020. Visitors from other Canadian provinces and territories must adhere to the local entry requirements in place in each of the four jurisdictions. Other Canadian visitors to the Maritime provinces that have self-isolated for 14 days may travel within the Maritime region.

Premiers noted that the decision to ease travel restrictions in the region was guided by the Chief Medical Officers of Health in each province and will continue to be closely monitored. All public health directives present in each province must be adhered to, including not traveling if you have any symptoms of COVID-19 and practicing physical distancing and good hand hygiene. Each province will choose their own processes to track and monitor travelers.

Premiers remain committed to working together to support economic and social recovery while ensuring the health and safety of all residents.

For further information, please contact:
Amanda Hamel, Office of the Premier, Prince Edward Island, 902-368-4400
Erin Sulley, Office of the Premier, Newfoundland and Labrador, 709-729-3960
Nicolle Carlin, Office of the Premier, New Brunswick, 506-453-7494
Kristina Shannon, Office of the Premier, Nova Scotia, 902-221-3719

General Inquiries

Office of the Premier
5th Floor South, Shaw Building
95 Rochford Street
PO Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE C1A 7N8

Phone: 902-368-4400
Fax: 902-368-4416