Islanders receive 2021 heritage awards

Islanders from across the province are being recognized for preserving and promoting Prince Edward Island’s heritage.

Islanders were invited to submit nominations for the PEI Museum and Heritage Foundation Awards last fall. The awards are presented each year to individuals or groups in recognition of their contribution to heritage on PEI. 

“Congratulations to all the recipients of PEI Museum and Heritage Foundation awards. On behalf of Government, we thank you for your passion and dedication in making our Island’s heritage a priority in your lives.”

- Economic Growth, Tourism and Culture Minister Matthew MacKay

“Islanders hold their history and heritage close to their hearts,” said Matthew McRae, Executive Director of the PEI Museum and Heritage Foundation. “There are so many people across this province who work hard every day to preserve and protect our past, striving to keep our heritage alive and meaningful in the present. The Heritage Awards are our chance to honour these Islanders and their achievements.” 

The awards will be presented to the recipients over two nights this year to allow for COVID-19 social distancing at Beaconsfield Carriage House, 2 Kent Street, Charlottetown on:

  • February 18 at 7 p.m.  
  • February 19 at 7 p.m. 
Due to venue capacity, the awards ceremonies will only be attended by awards recipients and a single guest, but Islanders can watch both events on Facebook Live on the PEI Museum and Heritage Foundation Facebook page.

Media contact:
Hillary MacDonald
Department of Economic Growth, Tourism and Culture 

Recipients of the 2021 PEI Museum and Foundation Heritage Awards 

Award of Honour 

  • Nature PEI

Wendell Boyle Award

  • Culture Summerside for the Culture Summerside 2020 Ghostwalk

Volunteer of the Year

  • Louis Cooper

Boyde Beck Memorial Award

  • Julie Pellissier-Lush 

Publication of the Year Award

  • J. Clinton Morrison for his book Logjams and Widow-Makers: Prince Edward Islanders in the Maine Woods

Natural Heritage Activity Award

  • Sharon Clark, Alma Currie and Ron Arvidson for their work on the Birding on PEI Facebook page

Irene Rogers Architectural Award

  • Lori Pendleton

Heritage Recognition Awards  

  • Tara Maloney - for her work on Tara Maloney House
  • The Summerside and Area Historical Society – for the photo exhibit of the Historic Holman Department Store
  • Randy Arsenault – for his work on the Cascumpec General Store, Antiques and Collectables
  • Paul Coles – for his work restoring 15 Hillsborough Street
  • PEI Association for Newcomers to Canada – for their work preserving and celebrating Island heritage
  • Myron Matheson – for preserving the history of CN Rail in PEI
  • Timothy Archer and Ricky Lee – for their work restoring the Music at the Manse building and turning it into a music venue
  • The Resort Municipality of Cavendish – for their work on Montgomery Park
  • Maxine Delaney – for restoring Clifford’s House
  • Dale MacAusland – for his work preserving PEI’s heritage through MacAusland’s Woolen Mills
  • Jody Jesso – for her work in genealogy
  • Dan McAskill, Jim Hornby and Aggi-Rose Reddin – for their work creating the Hillsborough River interactive virtual map 
  • Hung-Min Chiang – for his dedication and contribution to Island heritage
  • Mi’kmaq Heritage Actors Inc. – for sharing and preserving Mi’kmaq history through performance and storytelling
  • Brenda Jones – for her book Medicinal Herbs of Eastern Canada: A Picture Manual 

General Inquiries

Cultural Development Division, Innovation PEI
Department of Economic Growth, Tourism and Culture
94 Euston Street
PO Box 910
Charlottetown, PE C1A 7L9
Telephone: 902-368-6300
Toll-free (North America): 1-800-563-3734
Fax: 902-368-6301