Islanders volunteer through Engage PEI; more openings available

Islanders interested in helping their communities and neighbours chose to volunteer with the provincial government this month through Engage PEI, and there are other vacancies available for others wanting to get involved.

In December, 30 people were appointed to eight government agencies, boards, and commissions. Engage PEI is also recruiting for the Health PEI Board of Directors and the Learning Partners Advisory Council; visit to view these and other opportunities.

“Engage PEI has helped hundreds of Islanders find a role in public affairs by volunteering on provincial government boards,” Premier Wade MacLauchlan said. “One of those things that make our Island mighty is the willingness of so many Islanders to step forward and work together to make our province a better place to live, work, and prosper.”

Engage PEI helps Islanders apply to volunteer on more than 70 government boards. Between 10 and 20 vacant positions become available each month.

Some vacancies require specific skill sets, so Islanders should regularly check for openings that suit their experience or interests. To ensure you are considered when a vacancy becomes available, you can submit an application in advance at
Media contact:
Mary Moszynski



Below are the 30 people appointed or reappointed by cabinet to eight agencies, boards, and commissions in December, and their community of residence.

Housing Supply Task Force
John Horrelt                            Stratford
Karen Brodeur                        Dartmouth                
Robert Haggis                        Mount Stewart
Terry Hennessey                        Stratford
Bruce MacDougall                        Summerside
Christina MacLeod                        Charlottetown

Island Waste Management Corporation
Brenda Phillips                        Summerside
Ronald MacWilliams                    West Cape
John Reddin                            Charlottetown
Michael Fitzpatrick                        York

Mental Health Review Board
E. Scott Burke                        Charlottetown
Shelly Higgins                        Charlottetown
Dr. Mark Triantafillou (reappointment)            Charlottetown
Juanita Gallant                        O’Leary
David W. Hooley, Q.C.                    Charlottetown
Dr. Robert Jay (reappointment)                Stratford
Thomas Keeler                        Charlottetown

Prince Edward Island Marketing Council
Kathy MacDonald                        New Glasgow
Steven Reeves                        Freetown
David Harris                            O’Leary

Provincial Apprenticeship Board
Craig Roche                            Johnston’s River
Christopher Lea                        Vernon River

Victim Services Advisory Committee
Jeannine Carver                        Darnley
Cindy Banks                            East Royalty
Kerrilee MacConnell                    Charlottetown

Workers Compensation Board
Gail Ellis                            Summerside

Youth Futures Council
Daren B. Knockwood                    Scotchfort
Emma Drake                            Morell
Vivian Huang                            Charlottetown
Olivia Batten                            Alberton

General Inquiries

Executive Council Office
5th Floor, Shaw Building
95 Rochford Street
P.O. Box 2000,
Charlottetown, PE C1A 7N8

General Inquiries:
Phone: 902-368-4502
Fax: 902-368-6118

Engage PEI Inquiries: 

Visit Engage PEI to learn more about serving as a member of an agency, board or commission (ABC).
Engage PEI