Amalgamation approved for three municipalities

Le contenu suivant est seulement disponible en anglais.

There are three new municipalities in Prince Edward Island.

The provincial cabinet met in Georgetown today (September 25) and approved recommendations from the Island Regulatory and Appeals Commission to create the new municipalities of Three Rivers, North Shore, and Central Prince.

“I want to commend the outstanding efforts made by community leaders and residents to bring these amalgamation proposals forward,” Communities, Land and Environment Minister Richard Brown said.

“The creation of strong municipalities will enable them to deliver quality services to residents and address opportunities and challenges that communities and rural areas face. We look forward to continuing to support community leadership and residents.”

The boundaries of Three Rivers are the existing boundaries of the Montague, Georgetown, and Cardigan fire departments. The boundaries originally proposed have been amended to exclude all or portions of the unincorporated communities of Kinross, Bellevue, Grandview, Riverton, Martinvale, Corraville, Cardross, and Glenfanning.

The municipal council be composed of 12 councillors and one mayor. IRAC had recommended a council of six members. An interim council will be established, consisting of the seven existing mayors, representatives of the unincorporated communities, and an interim mayor.

“I see this new municipality as a great opportunity to ensure a strong future for the entire region,” Peggy Coffin, an interim member of the Three Rivers council said. “I have every confidence that the incoming elected council will work hard to bring all of the residents in our new municipality together.”

The Rural Municipality of North Shore will include the communities of North Shore, Grand Tracadie, and Pleasant Grove. The Rural Municipality of Central Prince will include the rural municipalities of Ellerslie-Bideford and Lady Slipper. The incoming interim mayors of these municipalities have endorsed cabinet’s decision.

“I am pleased with the restructuring and see some exciting opportunities ahead for the municipality,” said Gordon Ellis of the Rural Municipality of North Shore.

Rodd Millar, from the Rural Municipality of Central Prince said, “We feel this is the best decision moving forward and certainly are open to other areas joining us in the future.”

Elections for the new councils will be November 5.

Amalgamations are being carried out under the provisions of the new Municipal Government Act which are aimed at promoting greater transparency and accountability in municipal governance. There are now four new municipalities and active discussions are going on in other areas of the province.

Media contact:
Wayne MacKinnon

Renseignements généraux

Affaires municipales
Immeuble Aubin Arsenault, 2e étage
3, chemin Brighton
C.P. 2000
Charlottetown (Î.-P.-É.) C1A 7N8

Téléphone : 902-620-3558
Télécopieur : 902-569-7545

Visitez le site Web des élections municipales de l’Île

Visitez notre page Youtube

Visitez notre page Twitter

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir notre bulletin d’information