Province welcomes more government board members

Island communities continue to benefit from Islanders’ dedication to government agencies, boards and commissions.    

In the month of September, 24 new and returning members joined nine boards.

“It’s clear that Islanders have a deep sense of community through volunteerism and their continued commitment to provincial boards. The time and energy appointees dedicate to their role and spend with their fellow board members is a testament to Islanders’ goals of making our communities strong, healthy and safe. To every member, past and present, I am very thankful for your dedication.”

- Premier Dennis King

Islanders interested in submitting their application to join one of over 70 government agencies, boards or commissions can do so through Engage PEI.

Learn more about upcoming Engage PEI vacancies.

Media contact:
Vicki Tse


Here are the 24 people appointed or reappointed to nine agencies, boards and commissions in September 2021.

Community Care Facilities and Nursing Homes Board 
Gerard Burt, Kensington

Council of the College of Registered Nurses
Shirley Urquhart, Stratford (reappointment)

Council of the Institute of the Prince Edward Island Professional Planners Foundation
Lynne McKenna Fleming                Cape Traverse

Prince Edward Island Building Standards Council Appeal Board
Keith Bulman, Stratford

Prince Edward Island Building Standards Council 
Nazmi Lawen, Charlottetown
Sam Sanderson, Summerside
Will Lawrence, Hunter River
John Dewey, Winsloe South
Marcia Carroll, Johnstons River
Alicia Packwood, Charlottetown
Laird Ferguson, Crapaud

Prince Edward Island College of Optometrists
Dr. Sarah Anstey, Stratford
Dr. Mark Burke, Charlottetown (reappointment)
Dr. Kelly Bowes, Summerside (reappointment)
Dr. Rhod MacCorquodale, Stratford (reappointment)
Harley Richardson, Charlottetown (reappointment)
Merrill Wigginton, Charlottetown (reappointment)

Prince Edward Island Marketing Council 
Harold MacNevin, Coleman
Ellen MacPhail, Cornwall
Craig Noonan, Summerside

Social Assistance Appeal Board
Jacinta Campbell, Charlottetown

University of Prince Edward Island Board of Governors
James Bradley, Summerside (reappointment)
Kateri Coade, Rocky Point
Brian Thompson, Charlottetown (reappointment)

General Inquiries

Office of the Premier
5th Floor South, Shaw Building
95 Rochford Street
PO Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE C1A 7N8

Phone: 902-368-4400
Fax: 902-368-4416