Prince Edward Island Book Award

Since 2006, the Prince Edward Island Book Awards have celebrated the best in books by Prince Edward Islanders. Awards are given in four categories: fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and children's literature.

Who is eligible?

Authors, editors, or creators must be Canadian citizens or landed immigrants as well as residents of Prince Edward Island.

How are winners chosen?

Awards are presented every two years to the author, editor, or creator of the book that most clearly shows excellence in content, design, and production.

Past winners


  • Non-Fiction: Elizabeth Iwunwa - Ijé: An Immigrant’s Voyage into Prince Edward Island Life
  • Fiction: Theresa Redmond - Bound
  • Poetry: Sadie McCarney – Your Therapist Says it’s Magical Thinking
  • Children’s Literature:  Angel Jendrick – Secret Me 


  • Non-Fiction: Hung-Min Chiang - Home is Where the Water
  • Fiction: Oliva Robinson - The Blue Moth Mote
  • Poetry: Laurie Brinklow - My Island’s the House I Sleep in at Night
  • Children’s Literature:  Orysia Dawydiak - Kira’s Crossing 


  • Non-Fiction: Rosemary Curley, Pierre Yves Daoust, Donald F. McAlpine, Kimberly Riehl, and J. Dan McAskill - Mammals of Prince Edward Island and Adjacent Marine Waters
  • Fiction: J. J. Steinfeld - Gregor Samsa Was Never in the Beatles
  • Poetry: Richard Lemm - Jeopardy
  • Children’s Literature:  Orysia Dawydiak - Rika's Shepherd


  • Non-fiction: John Cousins - New London: The Lost Dream: The Quaker Settlement on P.E.I.'s North Shore, 1773-1795
  • Fiction: Harmony Wagner - Queen of The Crows
  • Poetry: Brent MacLaine - Prometheus Reconsiders Fire


  • Non-fiction: Debra Komar - The Bastard of Fort Stikine
  • Fiction: Finley Martin - Dead Letter
  • Poetry: David Helwig - Keeping Late Hours


  • Non-fiction: Jesse Francis and A.J.B. Johnston  - Ni'n na L'nu: The Mi'kmaq of Prince Edward Island
  • Fiction: Richard Lemm, editor - Riptides: New Island Fiction
  • Poetry: P. Susan Buchanan and Margot Maddison-MacFadyen , editors - The TWIG Collective: A Gathering of Twigs


  • Non-fiction: Marian Bruce - Remembering Old Dan
  • Fiction: Patti Larsen - Run
  • Poetry: Dianne Hicks Morrow - What Really Happened Is This


  • Non-fiction: John Sylvester - Wild Island
  • Fiction: Steven Mayoff - Fatted Calf Blues
  • Poetry: Brent MacLaine - Shades of Green


  • Non-fiction: Georges Arsenault - La Mi-Carême en Acadie
  • Fiction: Richard Lemm - Shape of Things to Come
  • Poetry: Joseph Sherman - Beautiful Veins


  • Non-fiction: Catherine Edward - Brow of Dawn


Published date: 
June 5, 2024
Education and Early Years

General Inquiries

Public Library Service
89 Red Head Road
PO Box 7500
Morell, PE C0A 1S0

Phone: 902-961-7320

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on X (formerly Twitter) and Instagram