New act modernizes local governance

Historic legislation marks the beginning of a new era for local governments in Prince Edward Island.
Introduced in the legislature today, the Municipal Government Act modernizes the province’s approach to local governance by establishing consistent rules and procedures for all municipalities. It will raise the standards of service delivery, administration, and financial accountability and provide municipalities with greater authority, flexibility, and discretion.
“Upon becoming minister in June 2015, I was mandated to conduct consultations on a new Municipal Government Act and bring forward legislation that increased accountability, accessibility, transparency, responsiveness and efficiency; I believe my department -- in collaboration with the Federation of PEI Municipalities and all Island municipalities --  has achieved that goal with this new legislation,” Communities, Land and Environment Minister Robert Mitchell said. “This legislation has been anticipated by municipal governments for many years, so I want to thank all municipal leaders and members – and all Islanders who participated in the consultation process – for helping us reach the stage we are at today.”

This new act will replace three existing pieces of legislation – the Municipalities Act, the Charlottetown and Area Municipalities Act, and the City of Summerside Act.
Key areas of change relate to:

• new structure and service requirements;
• how elections are held;
• council composition and conduct;
• administrative expectations;
• bylaw enforcement;
• bylaw jurisdiction;
• powers of the minister responsible; and
• financial matters.
““The Federation of PEI Municipalities looks forward to the adoption of the Municipal Government Act which will have far-reaching implications on all aspects of municipal government,” Federation of PEI Municipalities President Bruce MacDougall said.
For more information on the full legislation, visit Progress of Bills.
Le présent communiqué sera disponible en français d’ici un jour ouvrable au Nouvelles.
Media contact:

Amber Nicholson
Senior Communications Officer
Department of Communities, Land and Environment

General Inquiries

Department of Environment, Energy and Climate Action
4th Floor, Jones Building
11 Kent Street
PO Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE C1A 7N8

Phone: 902-368-5044
Toll-free: 1-866-368-5044
Fax: 902-368-5830
Report an Environmental Concern