PEI Forestry Commission

What is the Forestry Commission?

In September 2022, post-tropical storm Fiona hit Prince Edward Island with hurricane-force winds, resulting in widespread impacts to Island forests.  Government responded quickly by securing the J. Frank Gaudet Tree Nursery and resuming operations, assisting first responders in restoring critical infrastructure, prioritizing areas for wood salvage based on public safety and fire risk, acquiring post-storm satellite imagery, and launching an Emergency Forestry Task Force.  The recommendations of the Emergency Forestry Task Force have been received.

In January 2023, Government appointed a Forestry Commission to review PEI’s forest policy, programs and legislation in the wake of Fiona, and develop a Forest Recovery Plan for Prince Edward Island.

Forestry Commission Terms of Reference

Terms of Reference (170KB) 
Termes de Référence (175KB) 

Commission Members 


Jean-Paul Arsenault of Charlottetown.  Mr. Arsenault is a fluently-bilingual Islander with extensive forestry, human resources and public policy experience.  He assisted with the Round Table on Resource Land Use and Stewardship (1996), The Commission on Land Use and Local Governance  (aka Thompson Commission, 2010), and the Commission on the Lands Protection Act (aka Carver Commission, 2013).


Marcel Arsenault, Abram-village
Reg Conohan, Cardigan
Jerry Gavin, Northport
Matt Hughes, Kelly's Cross
John MacQuarrie, Charlottetown
Dr. Kathy Martin, Stanhope
Keila Miller, Souris
Krystal Pyke, Charlottetown
Gary Schneider, Stratford
Zora Wendt, Breadalbane
Sarah Wheatley, Suffolk
Randy Angus, Mi’kmaq Confederacy of PEI 

Additional Resources 

Auditor General Report, 2023  (1.35MB)
Prince Edward Island State of the Forest Report  (2MB)
Prince Edward Island Forest Policy (1.9MB)
News Release, January 2023

For further information, please contact:

Jean-Paul Arsenault, Chairperson

Published date: 
February 8, 2023