Premier announces changes to senior management team

Premier Dennis King today announced additional changes to the provincial government’s senior management team that continue to support realigned departments and agencies, and reflect a commitment to better serve all Islanders. 

“As a new government, we are striving to build a senior management team that will guide our work and ensure we are making this province the very best it can be,” said Premier King. “I believe that it is important to have the balance of experience and fresh perspectives around the table and working alongside the public service.”

The premier confirmed following changes are being made to further reflect government’s commitment to better serve Islanders: 

  • David Keedwell, Deputy Minister of Social Development and Housing
  • Deborah Bradley, Assistant Deputy Minister of Social Development and Housing
  • Brian Matheson, Acting Deputy Minister of Agriculture and Land
  • Rochelle Gallant, Assistant Deputy Minister of Intergovernmental and International Affairs
  • Kent MacDonald, Chief Executive Officer of Tourism PEI
  • Cheryl Paynter, Chief Executive Officer of the PEI Workers Compensation Board

“The leadership abilities of these individuals will be an asset to our renewed senior management team, and speaks to the excellence and depth of talent that exists within our public service,” added Premier King. 

Tory Kennedy, who has been serving as acting Chief Executive Officer of the PEI Workers Compensation Board, will be returning to her role as Director of Corporate and Human Resource Services with the organization. 

The Premier also announced that Laurie Loane has tendered her resignation as Deputy Minister of Agriculture and Land. Ms. Loane is returning to her position as Executive Director of the PEI Agriculture Sector Council.  

“We have tremendous respect for Ms. Loane, her depth of knowledge, and her work in the private sector to advance the agriculture industry on the Island. We wish her the best of luck in her future endeavours and look forward to continue working with her to strengthen and support the members of our agriculture sector.”

Media contact:
Amanda Hamel
Executive Director, Communications and Public Affairs
Premier’s Office
(902) 368-4400

General Inquiries

Office of the Premier
5th Floor South, Shaw Building
95 Rochford Street
PO Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE C1A 7N8

Phone: 902-368-4400
Fax: 902-368-4416