Net Zero Advisory Committee Members

In 2022, government released the Net Zero Framework with a vision to become Canada’s first Net Zero Province with targets for Net Zero Energy by 2030 and Net Zero for GHG Emissions by 2040. 

The Net Zero Advisory Committee provides advice based on diverse experience, knowledge, and evidence to the Minister of Environment, Energy, and Climate Action on matters respecting climate change.  They come from diverse backgrounds, including sectors, communities and subject matter expertise, to ensure different perspectives related to matters of climate change. 

Sharon Anderson, Chair

Net Zero Advisory Committee Board Member Sharon Anderson

Sharon Anderson was born, raised and educated in PEI, has always been keenly aware of the importance of protecting the environment, to maintain the delicate balance between nature and development, to preserve the beauty that is PEI.

She was an educator for 42 years; 13 of which were as an administrator. All were in the PEI school system, save the first year which was in BC. Throughout her teaching career, she encouraged students to consider ways to reduce, reuse and recycle in order to lessen the impact on the environment. 


Stephanie Arnold

Net Zero Advisory Committee Board Member Stephanie Arnold

Stephanie Arnold, BASc, MBA, is a PhD candidate and researcher with the UPEI Climate Research Lab. Their research areas include dynamic climate change adaptation for potato production and evaluation of climate change adaptation capacity.

They were named an Emerging Thought Leader by WIIS Canada for her research on climate change. Stephanie is also the Board President of BIPOC USHR and Chair of the PEI Anti-Racism Table. 


Drew Bernard

Net Zero Advisory Committee Board Member Drew Bernard

Drew Bernard is the Energy Lead and proud member of Lennox Island First Nation.

After graduating from Energy Systems Engineering Technology at Holland College in 2021, Drew began to chart a path to net-zero for his small but mighty Indigenous community on PEI's north shore.

Today, he is utilizing his position and experience to make significant impacts not only in his own community, but in Prince Edward Island's energy mix as a whole.


Dan Dupont

Net Zero Advisory Committee Board Member Dan Dupont

Dan Dupont is a professional forester operating as 'Working Forest PEI'.

He presently manages over 14,000 acres in Eastern PEI and is president of the Sustainable Forest Alliance.

Dan is very passionate concerning the sustainable and ecological management of our Acadian Forest, especially deliberately managing our temperate forests to address climate change.


Shawn MacDougall

Net Zero Advisory Committee Board Member Shawn MacDougall

Shawn MacDougall is the director of Applied Research at Holland College. In this role, Shawn is responsible for developing new research capacity and for connecting industry to Holland College programs with a goal to develop innovative applied research projects that support economic development in PEI.

Shawn has a master’s degree in Science with a focus on environmental and analytical chemistry.


Andrea MacKenna

Net Zero Advisory Committee Board Member Andrea MacKenna

Andrea MacKenna works with local farms and researchers to conduct on-farm projects to discover ways of improving farm practices that will ultimately make agriculture on PEI more evolutionary and sustainable while decreasing their environmental footprints.

She has a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Memorial University, and a Masters in Business, specializing in Evidence Based Management from UPEI. She is the Executive Director of the East Prince Agri-Environmment Association and the manager of Living Labs Atlantic. Over the next five years she will be leading research initiatives with farmers and 27 industry partners to conduct on farm research trials for developing Agriculture Climate Solutions.


Christina MacLeod

Net Zero Advisory Committee Board Member Christina MacLeod

Christina MacLeod is a partner and the Chief Taskmaster at VOLUME18, a strategic communications firm based in Stratford. VOLUME18 works with governments, non-profits and businesses to connect, communicate and create change.

Christina has a Master's in Environmental Legal Studies from the University of Auckland and has worked on climate policy and strategies, active transportation and environmental programs.


Sam Sanderson 

Net Zero Advisory Committee Board Member Sam Sanderson

Sam Sanderson is the general manager of the construction association of PEI. The mission of the Construction Association of PEI is to foster, promote and advance the interests and efficiency of the construction industry in Prince Edward Island by acting on behalf of and for its members.


Kaylee Busniuk

Kaylee Busniuk
Kaylee Busniuk works for Island Nature Trust (INT) as the Land Stewardship Manager and manages over 11,000 acres of Natural Areas in PEI. In this role Kaylee works to monitor and steward INT's lands to ensure their protection for future generations.

She has an Honours Bachelor’s degree in environmental management from Lakehead University and a Master of Science specializing in animal behavioural ecology from Memorial University. She also sits on the steering committee of the Prince Edward Island Invasive Species Council.







Published date: 
March 22, 2024
Environment, Energy and Climate Action

General Inquiries

Office of Net Zero – Environment, Energy and Climate Action
4th Floor, Jones Building
11 Kent Street
PO Box 2000
Charlottetown, PE C1A 7N8

Phone: 902-368-5044
Toll-free: 1-866-368-5044